Dear colleagues,

The Organising Committee for the 2021 edition of the IOC Advanced Team Physician Course (ATPC) is very pleased to welcome our experienced faculty and delegates from all over the world to Budapest, Hungary.

This 12th edition follows the previous eleven successful ATPCs. The first was organised by the Oslo Sports Trauma Research Center in Svolvær, Norway, 2008. IOC has then hosted the next courses at Stanford University, USA in 2010, in Calvi, France in 2011, in Oslo, Norway in 2012, at Saltsjøbaden, Sweden in 2013, in Mandelieu, France in 2014, in Doha, Qatar in 2015, in Stellenbosch, South Africa in 2016 and in Antalya, Turkey in 2017 and celebrated the 10-year anniversary in Marrakech, Morocco in 2018. In 2019 this course was hosted by IOC in Tokyo, Japan

By hosting the 2021 event in Budapest, Hungary we aim to make this programme easily available for colleagues from the region. The excellent feedback from previous participants has inspired us to continue developing the IOC ATPC concept to become even more valuable for experienced team physicians, as well as for a select group of physiotherapists.

For the 2021 edition we will continue with what has become the trademark of the IOC ATPC, addressing current issues in sports medicine through real life cases. You should expect discussions and interactions among participants and faculty around clinical conundrums facing the team physician working with the elite athlete.

One of the aims for the IOC ATPC is to have time for informal social interaction, and we know that each and every one of you will want to avail yourself of this opportunity to build an international network with experienced colleagues among faculty and delegates.

There are many situations in which the benefit of consulting a colleague with perspectives and practical experiences other that your own could be very valuable.

A warm welcome to Budapest, Hungary in April 2021!

Lars Engebretsen, MD, PhD Professor
Head of Medicine & Science
IOC Medical and Scientific Department

Roald Bahr, MD, PhD Professor
Chair of the Scientific Committee